safety
Match is by your side
Safety advice Match's guide to meeting and getting to know people without any issues
  • Key advice

    For a positive experience Read more
  • Keeping your account safe

    Your account is personal - protect it Read more
  • Taking the time to get to know each other

    Don't rush Read more
  • Reporting cyber-harassment

    Is a user making you feel uncomfortable? Let us know Read more
  • Avoiding potential scams

    There are some warning signs to look out for Read more
  • Enjoying your date

    Take some precautions Read more
  • Starting a relationship

    A strong relationship is built on mutual respect Read more
Tools for your safety Match tools you can use to take action if you run into any problems
  • Verify the authenticity of a profile

    What does the blue badge on some profiles mean? Read more
  • Blocking/unblocking a user

    How do you block/unblock a user? Read more
  • Reporting a user

    How do you report a user? Read more
  • Adjusting the visibility of your profile

    How do you activate the contact filter and incognito mode? Read more
  • Taking a break

    How do you deactivate your profile? Read more

Emergency

Resources for information and support
Read more

Taking a break

How do you deactivate your profile?

 

Want to have a break and not appear in people’s searches anymore? You can deactivate your profile.

 

  • Mobile site: go to ‘Me’, ‘Settings’ and click on ‘Suspend my account’ then click on ‘Hide my profile’
  • On a computer: go to ‘My account settings’, ‘Suspend my account’ and click on ‘Suspend my account’
  • On Android/iPhone app: log into the site via a computer or mobile and follow the instructions above

 

 

Please note: deactivating your profile is not the same as deleting it; it doesn’t mean that the information you have saved previously will be deleted or that the subscription and the payments due or its automatic renewal will be cancelled.

On the contrary, it allows you to keep all the information on your account, take a break and reactivate it again later.

 

How do I reactivate my profile?

To reactivate it, log in using your login details. A message will simply ask you to confirm you want to reactivate your account